Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 6th, 2012

Dear Mummum,

Thank You. Thank you for providing me with all of the experiences and opportunities that you have given me throughout my life. I have so many amazing memories with you. From when I was little and we would go canoeing in the lake outside of your house in North Carolina, to the time that you came up to Pittsburgh and painted the deep-sea mural on my wall. The watermelon you gave me to feed to the horses in Idaho and sitting in your living room helping you pick names for your paintings. Begging you to let me mow your lawn just so I could drive the tractor, then actually driving a car for the first time down your driveway. Making a five course meal with one of my friends in your kitchen with your guidance, and coming to your house after school to visit my pet chinchilla. And I am so thankful for the car that you gave to me. Then of course the incredible opportunity of living in Spain with you during those months when I was in 6th grade.

I have no doubts that the time we spent in Spain and traveling around Europe the month before changed me and the direction of my life. Because of that opportunity I am more conscientious of the vastness of this world than I may have ever been otherwise. I owe my appreciation and fascination of different cultures to you. I hope to one day work in a job that allows me to continue to travel and it was the time I spent with you in Spain that sparked this desire in me.

You are the coolest and strongest grandma I know. You are so always on the go and ready for the next adventure. Your independence is astounding to me. You aren’t afraid to spend a month traveling around Italy, but you are also content with spending quiet days with just your easel.

I can only hope to obtain a fraction of your seemingly unending patience, understanding and generosity. I am so lucky to have you as a role model in my life. Thank you for being everything that you are.

Much love,

Olga

Read Full Post »